Leadership

HBS Alumni Angels of Northern California

Co-Presidents:

 

Yasemin Besik Kliman, MBA '99   yaseminbesik@gmail.com

​Yasemin is an investor, board member, and Startup advisor who has been an active member of HBS Angels since 2009. An electrical engineer by background, Yasemin held executive positions in Siebel Systems, Yahoo and a number of startups in Silicon Valley. Her areas of expertise include digital advertising, machine learning, enterprise software, social gaming, augmented reality and ecommerce.

Tony Lazar, AB '85   tonylazarHBSAA@gmail.com
 

Tony has been an active member of the HBSAA Selection Committee since 2009, where he focuses on healthcare and technology commercialization. He has co-founded and invested in several medical startups, and runs a company automating data exchange between healthcare payors and providers. Tony worked at NASA's Hubble Space Telescope Science Institute and remains an avid astrophotographer. He holds an AB from Harvard and an MBA from Stanford.

Co-Presidents Emeritus:

Jean Kovacs, MBA '85   jean@jeankovacs.com

 

Jean has over 25 years of experience directing technology companies and growing businesses. Most recently, she was CEO and co-founder of Comergent Technologies, a fast-growing leader in e-business that was bought by Sterling Commerce (a division of AT&T). She has also served as interim CEO at two private companies during the past 12 months and has been working closely with a venture capital fund.

 

Etienne Deffarges, MBA '85   edeffarges@sbcglobal.net

Etienne is the Co-Chairman of the HBSAA-NC. An aeronautical engineer by training, he has enjoyed a rewarding professional career as a management consultant, business executive, and entrepreneur. He has led or participated directly in two IPOs and several exits. He graduated from HBS as a Baker Scholar in 1985.

Selection Committee Chair:

 

Yi Han, AB '12   yi@pascalcap.com


Yi chairs the HBSAA-NC's Selection Committee. He is a managing partner at Pascal Capital, a San Francisco-based venture capital firm. Previously he was a founding product manager at Alphabet's Debug project and an early product manager at Niantic. 

Director of Entrepreneurial Outreach:

Bhavna Muthangi, MBA '10  bmuthangi@mba2010.hbs.edu

Bhavna Muthangi is the Director of Entrepreneurial Outreach for the Northern California chapter of the HBS Angels Association.  She works in the Cloud Strategy Group at Oracle.  Previously she worked in product management at Symantec and Cisco.  She received her MBA from HBS in 2010, and went to college at the University of Pennsylvania. 


Steering Committee:


Tom Cervantez, MBA '91   tcervantez@bizlaw.com 
Larry Kelly, MBA '73   lkelly@mba1973.hbs.edu
Phil Rettger, MBA '85   prettger@mba1985.hbs.edu

© 2017-18 by HBSAA/NC

HBSA/NC and HBS Alumni Angels provide a forum for interesting early stage companies at a fund raising stage to present. However HBS Alumni Angels is not a fund, does not do crowd sourced fundraising, nor does it provide investment advice or recommendations.

Any due diligence, negotiation or investment activity conducted by members or officers of HBSA/NC or HBS Alumni Angels is conducted solely as an individual on their own accord as an accredited investor, not as an officer or representative of HBS, HBSA/NC or HBS Alumni Angels. While individuals may often work together informally in a group usually with a leader, this activity is always conducted independently and not a part of HBS, HBSA/NC or HBS Alumni Angels.
 

  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon